Square Foot Garden Update

We’ve managed to get our gardens planted!

I’m amazed at how much stuff one can cram into a square foot! I had no idea how much we’d be able to cram in those little beds. We probably would have been just fine with four beds but we did fill up all six. I think we were a little ambitious but square foot gardens are supposed to be pretty easy to care for so hopefully we’ll be okay!

We’ve planted:

  • 3 varieties of lettuce (Romaine, iceburg, and red leaf)
  • lots of spinach (though it isn’t looking too healthy….it was HOT the day I planted it)
  • carrots
  • tomatoes (Tiny Tim and Scotia varieties)
  • zucchini
  • cucumbers
  • Herbs (sweet basil, spicy globe basil, rosemary, chives, marjoram, sage,  feverfew, Italian parsley, frilly parsley, savory, bee balm, etc)
  • Swiss chard
  • sweet corn
  • bean bush
  • sweet peppers
  • onions
  • leeks
  • strawberries
  • broccoli
  • cabbage

All in all, we spent a little under 100 dollars for the plants (and were given a few leftovers from a friend and if we get a good turn out we’ll easily make that back (plus we won’t have to worry about our food being covered in pesticides). Some of the herbs and the strawberries should grow back again next year so we’ll be able to enjoy then for years to come!

I’m a little terrified that certain plants (cucumbers, zukes, and strawberries) as going to take over the garden and I likely should have given them a box of their own. I honestly didn’t have a clue what I was doing so I’ll be happy with whatever we get. It will be a good learning experience.

If there are any others out there that have planted a square foot garden this year I would love to see them (share your link in the comments section) and hear how they progress over the summer.

I will keep you updated on ours as well!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Square Foot Garden Update

  1. Shannon says:

    LOOKS GOOD! I did some posts over at http://www.littlehomeschoolonthehill.com two years ago about my square foot gardens, you remember them? Well, yes, the Zukes will take over… LOL!

    As for your set up, I LOVE that you have them on a tarp of landscaping fabric… how smart are you??? Hmmm… I might have to consider that… I wanted to put some in next year (too much going on this year). In the meantime, I have some tomatoes, peppers, zukes, cukes and rhubarb (for next year) growing this year… I think I need something else, but haven’t decided what… melons maybe? That’d be fun!

    Gotta decide soon!

    I think yours look fantastic!!! WELL DONE! Hopefully I can get down there sometime around harvest and help you enjoy your bountiful garden!!! :o)

    Blessings!

  2. Alissa says:

    Looks great, Katrina!! I’ve been meaning to take pics of mine so I’ll have to do that and post them.

  3. Alissa says:

    Hey Katrina,
    Just thought I’d come back here and update, I finally got around to posting about our Square Foot Gardens. You can find the post here:
    http://onpurposeliving.blogspot.com/2010/06/our-square-foot-gardens.html

    Take care!
    Alissa

Leave a Reply

