Stitching, Sketching and Scrapping Sunday-Sept 12th

There’s a little nip in the air. Do you feel it, too? It is making me want wrap myself in a warm blanket with a nice cup of tea and settle down with a ball of wool to craft. Yes, even if you aren’t quite ready to accept it, fall is upon us. People are beginning to come indoors and I think it is the perfect time to start sharing our craftiness with each other as we’ll need inspiration to keep busy over the long winter months. Maybe I should stop talking about the cold and just post some pictures before I scare you all away!

I’m still in the hat business here but I am looking forward to moving on to some new projects like this with the modifications that SouleMama made which you can find here. Until then, here are some more HATS!

I’ve found my favorite hat pattern, in terms of size (you have no idea how much I’ve struggled to find a hat to fit a newborn) here. I’ve enjoyed making a few slight modifications to the shaping and then changing up the last few rows to allow for all kinds of different looks.

Here is my first go at it, following the pattern to the letter and only adding the braids.

Here it is again with some shaping modifications and bear ears.

I’ve made others with modifications for ribbons and will be crocheting up some flowers to day to girly up a pretty pink one I knit yesterday.

As my husband has joined me in hat making, we are becoming overwhelmed with hats and are thinking about opening an Etsy shop. My husband has also been working on educational wooden cards that he would like to sell as well so we are looking at different ideas. I would love if those of you who craft to sell would leave a little comment talking about your experiences. A shop if probably a few weeks off. I’m up to my knees in finishing off projects and am really itching to start my Shalom sweater so sitting on the computer figuring out online shops is not high on my list of things to do!

I’m looking forward to hearing more about your projects and ideas for autumn crafting!

This entry was posted in Crafts. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Stitching, Sketching and Scrapping Sunday-Sept 12th

  1. Kathy says:

    Love the hats, especially the first one.. I’d be interested in what you find out about online craft shops since that would be ideal for us also.

  2. Christine says:

    I love the Hat with the ties. I’ve crocheted in the past, but I’m not very good so I stick with sewing.

    I’ve had a bit of a creative streak lately.

    http://sewcraftygirl.blogspot.com/

    • mamamanuscripts says:

      Thanks for sharing, Christine! I’d love to great into scrap-booking but I am not that creative so I stick to things that have a pattern!

  3. Vickie says:

    Great looking hats. We have a friend that makes newborn and preemie hats and gives them to the hospitals. Don’t forget about setting up at your area holiday craft fairs. Something like this, someone may be looking for stocking stuffers.

    Visiting from the crew. I’ll have to post on future Craft Sundays when I get my stuff going too. Cool meme.

    God’s Blessings

    • mamamanuscripts says:

      That is a great idea, Vickie. I am beginning to get so many that I should start doing that! I plan to give each of my clients (as a doula) a jar of soup, loaf of artisan bread and a baby hat after their birth when I do my post partum visits but finding clients in Cape Breton has proven difficult.

  4. Kimberly says:

    http://www.artfire.com NO listing fees (like with Etsy)! 🙂

Leave a Reply

