PyraMath-A Review

Product: PyraMath cards
Company: I See Cards
Price: 6.95$US

We love math games in this house so we were thrilled when we were chosen to review Pyramath cards as part of the TOS Homeschooling Crew. I was watching a video about PyraMath when my son came over and started watching with me. He desperately wanted to play right away but I convinced him that the best things in life, or rather the best products for review, are worth waiting for. I, however, did check out the online version of the game! Much fun was had by Mommy while waiting for the card version to arrive. My son, also really enjoyed using Pyramath once his cards finally arrived in the mail, after several mornings of watching the mailman walk right by our house.

This one or two player math game allows your child to practice their addition, subtraction, multiplication and division facts while having fun. The goal is to use basic math functions to build a pyramid using basic math operations. You can race against another player to see who can build their pyramid first or try to bet the clock playing against yourself in a solitaire style game.

Each card has the number written as a numeral and also the number’s name in various languages (English, Spanish, Chinese, Arabic, and French) and Roman numerals. While we didn’t really focus in on that as we were playing it is a nice addition and my son was pleased to see that the numbers were written in Roman numerals as well (something we’d been learning in math).

This rules of the game are so simple that it is easy for the youngest student to play. My son,7, and I used all four basic operations when we played but it was nice that my daughter, 5, and I were able to play together using just addition and subtraction. All too often a game is suitable for one or the other of my children but not for both. This is a game that they can actually pull out and play together without too much input from Mum and that is always welcome.

At 6.95$US this game is affordable and fun. While it can be played with a basic deck of cards, the actual PyraMath cards are nice and a little less distracting to play with than a regular deck of cards (if you have a daughter like mine who gets obsessed with the “gems” and hearts!). In addition to Pyramath, I See Cards also has a couple other math card games and a Spanish/English word deck. You can view all their products on their website as well as find out much more about PyraMath and play a game for yourself. My only warning is that PyraMath can be addicting so play at your own risk!

**Any products reviewed by me as a member of the TOS Homeschool Crew have been given to me free of charge in order for me to provide you with an honest review of the product and/or how we used the product within our family. I do not receive any other form of compensation for the reviews posted on this blog.

This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

