It’s been 3 months since I’ve shampoo’ed my hair..

and I’ve lived to tell about it!

I originally planned on posting about a very special sweater that my mother made many years ago, but I couldn’t quite get all the photos I wanted (a very finicky camera) so today you’ll have to hear about my experience with no pooing. Well, rather, I don’t have so much to say about the experience besides I LOVE it. My hair has never felt nor looked cleaner and I am no longer slave to my shampoo bottle. Best of all, I am not longer adding a whole bunch a harsh cleaners to my hair and to the environment.

I’ve known about no pooing for a number of years but I didn’t really know how to do it until one of my friends posted about it on her blog here. With an exact “recipe” I felt ready to give it a go and was amazed with the results immediately. I woke up in the middle of the night the first time I used it and my hair felt softer already. Instead of having to wash my hair almost everyday I can now go about 3 or 4 days between washing and it is easy to keep up. A tablespoon of baking soda (that I keep under the bathroom sink) in a cup filled with water to wash with and the some apple cider vinegar (that I keep in the shower) in the same cup, mixed with water to rinse with and that’s it!

Some people go through a period of adjustment but I had no problems with my hair at all. I’d love to hear what others experiences were like starting out with going shampoo free so leave me a comment.

(also note that I will be talking about “strange” things like this more often as I want to change this blog into a place to start talking about those things that I am passionate about and natural parenting/care/living is definitely at the top of my list).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

