Travel the World with Digital Frog

Product: The Digital Field Trip Series
Company: Digital Frog International
Price: 125$ Home License DVD

I’ve been amazed at the number of times that we’ve been blessed with the right product at the right time since starting with the TOS Homeschool Crew a year and a half ago. I guess I shouldn’t have been so surprise when we received a DVD in the mail from Digital Frog International . We’ve been learning about Egypt (yes, again) and my daughter is especially interested in deserts of all types and the animals that live there. We have looked through the books that we have at home but even at 5, she hasn’t been satisfied. When we received a DVD in the mail that would take us on a journey though the desert (and the wetlands, and the jungle) we ready to jump right into the DVD, as my children would say.

Digital Frog International has been providing parents, teachers and nature enthusiasts with educational material for the past 15 years. Their educational DVD allow you to explore various science topics though multimedia presentations, informative texts and interactive games. The field trip DVD includes a virtual field trip through various ecosystems in which you can choose links from the field notes to go deeper and deeper into a study of the ecosystems and various related science topics (photosynthesis, land formation/erosion, the water cycle just to name a few of the many, MANY topics and subtopics covered). You can also choose to use to go straight into the various topics and click links to see where they lead (don’t worry, there is a map so you can’t get lost).

I think one of the best ways to tell you about this DVD is to show it to you and let it do the talking, so here goes!

A nifty little build a desert interactive game that I quite enjoyed (however, it would have been even more exciting if the ecosystem actually changed as you added your new animals/plants to it).

Similar type deal but this time you are building a tree (I did not try this one as we focused on the desert this time around).

An example of the field trip pages. You can rotate the picture 360 degrees as well as zoom in and out. There are lots of links in the field notes and almost every single word is defined.

We met a lot of animals on our journey…

and studied some fascinating subjects.

While my feeling is that my children were a bit young to get the most out of this product, we still enjoyed it (and have only had a chance to really explore the desert). I would be more suitable for a middle school/high school student in my opinion but even a young child would enjoy and learn from much of the material provided. While I would not be one to purchase such an item (I cannot justify spending 125 dollars on anything, but that’s the type of person I am) myself, I think it is a great tool if you have the income to purchase it and it a better deal to get all 3 ecosystems combined than to purchase them individually. I could honestly have centered a whole year of science around this DVD for my children and may actually do so at a later date. When you think of all that you get, 125 dollars isn’t unreasonable and I invite you to visit their website for yourself to get a better idea of all that is offered.

In adition to the ecosystem field guides, Digital Frog International also offers a virtual frog disection DVD (that you actually interact with, how cool is that?) and ScienceMatrix: Cell Structure & Function (which I am itching to get my hands on). There’s lots to check out so be sure to take a few minutes to stop by their website if you have been wondering what to do for science this year!

**Any products reviewed by me as a member of the TOS Homeschool Crew have been given to me free of charge in order for me to provide you with an honest review of the product and/or how we used the product within our family. I do not receive any other form of compensation for the reviews posted on this blog.

This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

