30 Day Blog Challenge – Day 5

Please join me at Katie’s Journey to share in the 30 Day Blog Challenge!

Day 5 – The Sibblings

Well, as I said, I was the baby by far in my family and grew up pretty much like a single child. I have 2 sisters and 3 brothers. Only my brother was still living at home when I was born and he moved out when I was 5 or 6 years old. By the time I was old enough to care they were all living far away so that we only saw them in the summer or maybe at Christmas if we were lucky. There was one sister who lived in the same town as me and she had her fair part in raising me as I would stay with her during the week if my Mum ended up in the hospital (mostly when I was quite young) and then I lived with her for a year or so after my Mum died. She has a son that is only 3 years younger than me so we were more like siblings than I ever was with my own brothers and sisters. We grew up together and when I think of siblings I probably think of him first!

I love my family but we aren’t particularly close, perhaps partially because of the age difference. They don’t really know me that well and I don’t really know them all that much either. When we lived closer we’d get together a couple times a year for a BBQ or some holiday supper but that is basically it. Now that I’ve moved away I get the occasional Facebook comment on photos but that is about it. None of us are really big on the phone, I suppose. I don’t really try to keep up with them either. It is a little sad that we don’t try more but it suppose that’s the way it is. They all have the talents, skills and quirks but I don’t really feel qualified to be blogging about them so I will leave it at that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

