Friday’s Fave Five – October 29th

I seem to only do this meme every couple of weeks but it certainly is a favorite of mine! Head on over to Living to Tell the Story and share your favorites of the week as well!

Simplicity Parenting. This may become the most life changing inter library loan EVER! Basically, it’s a book full of things that I’ve been trying to say for years (unsuccessfully). It’s given me the courage to go ahead and make changes to our lives that have become overwhelmed with stuff. It also talks about the importance of routine and the usually in helping kids feel secure and grounded and making the high moments higher because they have become out of the ordinary. I’ll be talking quite a bit more about these things over the coming weeks.

2. Much more calm in the household.
Even before I’d read Simplicity Parenting we’d started to make changes because, well, umm, I cried and pleaded and said something has got to give because I am going CRAZY! We made a few simple changes (again a blog post to follow) and then a few more as a result of our reading and I’m already seeing results that I thought would take much longer. I’m beginning to recognize my children again and not just these kids that want more, bigger, better.

3. The Internet. Yes, I hate technology but I’ve found a wealth of information on here in the last couple weeks. I also thank my friend, Alissa, for pointing me in the right direction.

4. The leaves and the trees.
They are just gorgeous this last week.

5. The 30 Day Blog Challenge. I have been neglecting my blog and viewership has decreased but this challenge has definitely caused things to pick up again and I am quite enjoying it as well.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friday’s Fave Five – October 29th

  1. Laura says:

    Glad you’re back this week! I’ve got to check this book out, that’s for sure. And the 30 day blog challenge.

    Have a great week ahead.

  2. Susanne says:

    That sounds like a really good book. Glad it made some positive changes for you as you put it into practice.

  3. Alissa says:

    I’m so glad you found this book to be as life-altering as I did! I thought it was a wonderful, gentle introduction to Waldorf. I keep meaning to re-read it, as I’m sure it’s one of those books that has more to give each time you read it.

Leave a Reply

