Wits and Wagers Family Edition – A Review

Product: Wits and Wagers Family
Company: North Star Games
Price: 19.99$US
Age Range: 8 and up
Players: 3 or More
Length of Game: Approximately 20 minutes

We love Meeple!

Meeple: A generic term for little wooden figures used in German board gaming.
-UrbanDictionary.com

These easy to love characters became a favorite of ours when we started playing Carcassonne several years ago and we were thrilled to see that they made the voyage across the Atlantic Ocean safely when we received Wits and Wagers Family to review as part of the TOS Homeschool Crew. My husband and I have always played board games together and we love to get a good quality game, however, I wasn’t expecting much when we were told that we were getting this game to review. I’ll admit that we do not buy really cheap board games. They are the one thing that we splurge on and we’ll often spend fifty or sixty dollars on a game so we weren’t expecting to get anything of great quality for 19.99$US. When the package arrived, I actually put it aside for a few days without even opening it. Sure, it looked cool, but I still wasn’t expecting much. Imagine my surprise when I opened it and found that the materials were of really good quality! The box was very sturdy, the cards were beautiful and glossy, and of course there were ten lovely and familiar Meeple.

This trivia game for 3 or more players is the family edition of North Star Games’ award winning party game Wits and Wagers. Each player (or group of players if you have a large group) gets a dry erase board and pen. You are then asked a question that has a numeric answer. The fun part is that you aren’t supposed to know the answer and are supposed to guess closest to the answer without going over (reminds one a little of The Price is Right, doesn’t it?). Each players answers are then lined up from smallest to largest and then each team takes turns placing their large (worth two points) and small (worth one point) meeple on whatever answer they think is closest to the right one (don’t worry, like the Price is Right, you can bet 1 if you think everyone has guessed too high). You then flip the question card and the answer is relieved. The teams with meeple on the card closest to the answer recieve their points and play continues with the next question. The first team to make it to 15 points in the winner.

My husband is not really big on trivia games so I ended up playing it with just my 5 and 7 year old. I was a little apprehensive about playing it with my daughter because it is recommended for 8 years and over, however, my son and I would write down our answer to the question first and then have her answer and we’d write her reply for her. I though she might get bored of the games but she had as much fun guessing the at the answers as we did (it helps that one of the questions was “how many Disney princesses are there?”….Liam and I were missing a few!). This game went quickly so it was fun to play with my children. We don’t play board games with them frequently as they both have trouble sitting and holding attention for much more than 30 minutes so the fact that this game didn’t take longer than 20 minutes was definitely a plus.

I was very impressed with the quality of this game for the price and I would not hesitate to pay 19.95$US for it. With 150 different questions, you’ll be busy for quite a while and I suppose you could always come up with questions of your own (perhaps a nice homeschooling project). I think that it would be especially fun to play in a larger group with teams but it was still quite enjoyable with our little group of three. I definitely look forward to playing with it more this holiday season! North Star Games also sells a few other party games that you can learn more about here with a couple new games set to arrive in 2011 (including a family edition of Say Anything…another popular game). North Star Games can be purchase directly on the North Star Game website or from other fine game stores and department stores in your area. If you love good quality games then I invite you to check out Wits and Wagers Family as I think you will be pleasantly surprised!

**Any products reviewed by me as a member of the TOS Homeschool Crew have been given to me free of charge in order for me to provide you with an honest review of the product and/or how we used the product within our family. I do not receive any other form of compensation for the reviews posted on this blog.

This entry was posted in Homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

